Home Breaking News Covid-19: Buhari Declares Nationwide Curfew Starting In May 4, Extends Lagos, Ogun,...

Covid-19: Buhari Declares Nationwide Curfew Starting In May 4, Extends Lagos, Ogun, FCT Lockdown By 7 days


President Muhammadu Buhari, on Monday, declared a nationwide overnight curfew starting from 8pm to 6am as new measures to contain the spread of COVID-19 pandemic in the country.

The President, in a national broadcast however extended earlier lockdown order in Lagos, Ogun states and the Federal Capital Territory which expires today, Monday 27 by another one week.

He said that effect from Monday, 4th May, 2020, there will be gradual easing of lockdown measures in Abuja, Lagos and Ogun States.

According to him, the lockdown in the FCT, Lagos and Ogun States shall remain in place until these new ones come into effect on Monday, 4th May 2020.

“Our goal was to develop implementable policies that will ensure our economy continues to function while still maintaining our aggressive response to the COVID-19 pandemic. These same difficult decisions are being faced by leaders around the world.

“Based on the above and in line with the recommendations of the Presidential Task Force on COVID-19, the various Federal Government committees that have reviewed socio-economic matters and the Nigeria Governors Forum, I have approved a phased and gradual easing of lockdown measures in FCT, Lagos and Ogun States effective from Monday, 4th May, 2020.

“However, this will be followed strictly with aggressive reinforcement of testing and contact tracing measures while allowing the restoration of some economic and business activities in certain sectors”, he added.

He, however directed the enforcement of a total lockdown for a period of two weeks effective immediately in Kano state.

“The Federal Government shall deploy all the necessary human, material and technical resources to support the State in controlling and containing the pandemic and preventing the risk of further spread to neighboring States”, he said.

According to him, the new nationwide measures are to be introduced as follows;
a. There will be an overnight curfew from 8pm to 6am. This means all movements will be prohibited during this period except for essential services;

  1. There will be a ban on non-essential inter-state passenger travel until further notice;
  2. Partial and controlled interstate movement of goods and services will be allowed for the movement of goods and services from producers to consumers; and
  3. We will strictly ensure the mandatory use of face masks or coverings in public in addition to maintaining physical distancing and personal hygiene. Furthermore, the restrictions on social and religious gatherings shall remain in place. State Governments, corporate organisations and philanthropists are encouraged to support the production of cloth masks for citizens.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here